RSS

About Us

Herald-Leader reporters strive daily to cover Kentucky politics with more depth, breadth, speed and authority than anyone else. Bluegrass Politics gives us one more way to serve up the day’s breaking political news, along with original reporting you won’t find anywhere else. Here’s how to reach us.

Government editor John Stamper manages Bluegrass Politics on a daily basis. Reach him at 859-231-3204 or jstamper@herald-leader.com.

Political writer Jack Brammer provides insightful, analytical coverage of Kentucky’s elections and how the political maneuvers of our elected leaders affect public policy. Reach him at 502-227-1198 or jbrammer@herald-leader.com.

State government reporter Beth Musgrave is our primary finger on the pulse of state government. She writes a mix of daily and enterprise stories that explain how the actions of state government impact the lives of Kentuckians. Reach her at 502-875-3793 or bmusgrave@herald-leader.com.

Government accountability reporter John Cheves writes stories that hold government officials and agencies accountable for their words and actions. Reach him at 859-231-3266 or jcheves@herald-leader.com

Federal government reporter Halimah Abdullah in the McClatchy Washington Bureau writes about Kentucky’s congressional delegation. Reach her at 202-383-6055 or habdullah@mcclatchydc.com.

Accountability reporter Valarie Honeycutt Spears’ responsibilities include writing about how government serves, or fails to serve, the state’s poorest, most vulnerable and most troubled citizens. She also writes accountability stories on sports issues and Lexington government. Reach her at 859-231-3409 or vhoneycutt@herald-leader.com.

K-12 education reporter Jim Warren covers Fayette County Schools and state primary and secondary education policy. Reach him at 859-231-3255 or jwarren@herald-leader.com.

Equine and agriculture writer Janet Patton writes about the state’s equine and agriculture industries, including the state’s efforts to monitor and bolster those industries. Reach her at 859-231-3264 or jpatton1@herald-leader.com.

Copyright 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010 Lexington Herald-Leader. All Rights Reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of any of the contents of this service without the express written consent of the Lexington Herald-Leader is expressly prohibited.