Beshear to choose among 3 attorneys to fill Supreme Court seat

February 26, 2015 | | Comments 0

By Jack Brammer

FRANKFORT —The names of three attorneys were presented to Gov. Steve Beshear Thursday from which he is to choose a replacement to fill the Kentucky Supreme Court seat held by Justice Will T. Scott.

Scott, of Pikeville,stepped down from the state’s highest court Jan. 2 to run as a Republican for governor.

The three attorneys selected by the seven-member Judicial Nominating Commission, led by Chief Justice John D. Minton Jr., are David Allen Barber of Prestonsburg, Roger Donald Riggs of Mount Sterling and Janet L. Stumbo of Van Lear.

Barber is a policy and legal adviser in House Speaker Greg Stumbo’s legislative office and served as a Kentucky Court of Appeals judge from 2000 to 2007.

He is a partner in the law firm of Richardson, Barber & Williamson in Owingsville. He received his law degree from the University of Louisville Louis D. Brandeis School of Law.

Riggs is an attorney with the law firm of Morgan, Collins & Yeast in Mount Sterling. He previously served as a Kentucky administrative law judge in the Kentucky Department of Workers’ Claims, where he presided over workers’ compensation claims throughout the state.

He received his law degree from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

Stumbo is serving her seventh consecutive year as a Kentucky Court of Appeals judge for the 7th Appellate Court District. She was a Supreme Court justice from 1993 to 2004.

She received her law degree from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

Beshear’s choice to replace Scott will fill the office until an election.

Janet Stumbo and Circuit Judge Sam Wright of Whitesburg are candidates for the seat in November’s non-partisan general election. John D. Lewis Jr. of Sandy Hook withdrew as a candidate Feb. 5.

The counties in the 7th Supreme Court District are Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Elliott, Floyd, Greenup, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Rowan and Wolfe.

Filed Under: ElectionsKY Courts

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.