Jean-Marie Lawson Spann files to run for state agriculture commissioner

November 12, 2014 | | Comments 0

With family members looking on, Jean-Marie Lawson Spann files for state agriculture commissioner.

With family members looking on, Jean-Marie Lawson Spann files for state agriculture commissioner.

By Jack Brammer

FRANKFORT – Farm radio show host Jean-Marie Lawson Spann made her Democratic bid for state agriculture commissioner official Wednesday by filing papers signed by former Gov. Paul Patton and former Agriculture Commissioner Billy Ray Smith.

With her husband, Bobby Spann of Union, and her parents, Sam and Beverly Lawson of Bowling Green, at her side, Lawson Spann filed her declaration papers in the secretary of state’s office in the Capitol.

Her mother will be her campaign treasurer. Her campaign manager will be named later, she said.

Lawson Spann had announced in June that she would be seeking the office now held by Republican James Comer of Tompkinsville. Comer is running for governor next year.

Lawson Spann is in her 10th year as host of the Jean-Marie Ag Show, a radio show about farm news. She is vice president of marketing for Lawson Marketing Inc. and a former vice president of marketing for Hartland Equipment.

A graduate of Western Kentucky University, Lawson Spann was a two-term state president of the Kentucky Young Democrats, secretary of the Democratic Party State Central Executive Committee, and a delegate to the 2004 Democratic National Convention.

Her husband is vice president of external affairs for Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport.

Lawson Spann is the only candidate to file so far for agriculture commissioner. State Sen. Dennis Parrett, D-Elizabethtown, had considered running for the seat but announced in September decided that he will not.

Patton and Smith are part of Lawson Spann’s so-called “Ag-Mazing Army.”

Others who have endorsed her candidacy include former Govs. Julian Carroll and Martha Layne Collins, U.S. Rep. John Yarmuth of Louisville, former auditor and lieutenant governor-to-be Crit Luallen, former agriculture commissioners Ed Logsdon and David Boswell, and House Speaker Pro Tem Larry Clark.

Filed Under: 2015 Statewide RacesAgriculture CommissionerElectionsState Government

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.