Allison Jones newest member of Kentucky appellate court

September 11, 2013 | | Comments 0


FRANKFORT — Allison Jones of Oldham County is the newest member of the Kentucky Court of Appeals, replacing Michelle Keller, who now is a justice on the Kentucky Supreme Court.

Jones, who recently was appointed to the appellate court by Gov. Steve Beshear, has decided to locate her office in Campbell County.

Jones, like other Kentucky Court of Appeals Judges, hears cases from all across the state, regardless of geography, via a random assignment system developed by the courts.

But Jones said in a news release she still plans to travel extensively throughout the district to spend time with her new constituents and listen to their concerns about the judicial system.

“From Oldham County to Bath County, to Campbell, Kenton and Boone –and everywhere in between—I look forward to serving all citizens of the Commonwealth regardless of race, gender, political party or geography,” she said.

Jones is a former administrative law judge who presided over workers’ compensation claims.

She also was a staff attorney for the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Kentucky for more than five years and a former law clerk/attorney for U.S. District Court Judge John G. Heyburn II of the Western District of Kentucky.

Before her judicial service in federal and state courts, Jones practiced at Stites & Harbison PLLC, the oldest law firm in Kentucky, where she specialized in complex business litigation and intellectual property matters.

Immediately after graduating from law school, Jones practiced at Fenwick & West in Palo Alto, Calif., as an intellectual property litigation attorney.

Jones earned her law degree from the University of Kentucky College of Law where she graduated with magna cum laude honors. She received her undergraduate degree from Transylvania University, where she also graduated with magna cum laude honors.

Her appellate district, 6th District, Division 1, encompasses 21 counties — Bath, Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Fleming, Gallatin, Grant, Harrison, Henry, Kenton, Lewis, Mason, Nicholas, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Robertson, Shelby, Spencer and Trimble.


Filed Under: KY CourtsState Government

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.