Beshear declares state of emergency in 12 Kentucky counties

April 26, 2013 | | Comments 0
Gov. Steve Beshear

Gov. Steve Beshear

By Beth Musgrave

FRANKFORT — Gov. Steve Beshear declared a state of emergency Friday in 12 Kentucky counties that suffered flooding and other damage from severe storms over several weeks.

The counties, most of which are in Eastern Kentucky, include: Bell, Clay, Crittenden, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Owsley, Rockcastle and Whitley. The strong system of storms began April 15, Beshear said.

Federal and state emergency officials will begin collecting damage estimates caused by the storms. That information will be turned over to federal officials to determine if local and state governments could be eligible for federal disaster assistance.

Beshear encouraged residents to contact local emergency management officials if they have suffered storm damage. A list of emergency management officials can be found at the Kentucky Department of Emergency Management website at

Filed Under: State GovernmentSteve Beshear

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.