Kentucky legislative panel to focus on school safety

January 17, 2013 | | Comments 0

House Speaker Greg Stumbo, D-Prestonsburg

By Beth Musgrave

FRANKFORT — A newly-formed legislative subcommittee that will study school safety in Kentucky will hold it first meeting Thursday at 3:30 p.m.

House Speaker Greg Stumbo created the special subcommittee this week in the wake of a mass shooting at an elementary school in Newtown, Conn., last month.

State Rep. Richard Henderson, D-Jeffersonville, will chair the committee. Thursday’s meeting will include testimony from Jon Akers, the Director of the Kentucky Center for School Safety, officers from the Louisville Police Department, and a school resource officer from Estill County High School, according to a news release from Stumbo’s office.

“In the wake of last month’s tragedy in Newtown, Conn., every state is taking a fresh look at this issue,” said Stumbo, D-Prestonsburg. “Here in Kentucky, Rep. Henderson is helping to lead the way, as shown by legislation he has filed to make this committee permanent. As a co-sponsor, I thought the sooner it could meet, the better, because this is not an issue in which we can afford to wait.”

In addition to Henderson and Stumbo, who will be an ex officio member, the panel includes state Reps. Carl Rollins, D-Midway; Mike Denham, D-Maysville; Derrick Graham, D-Frankfort; Keith Hall, D-Phelps; John Carney, R-Campbellsville; and Brian Linder, R-Dry Ridge.

Filed Under: EducationGreg StumboKY General AssemblyState Government

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.