No compromise on congressional redistricting; issue probably headed to court

February 07, 2012 | | Comments 0

By Beth Musgrave

FRANKFORT — State lawmakers failed to redraw the boundaries of Kentucky’s six congressional districts before Tuesday’s candidate filing deadline, which means the issue probably will end up in court.

House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins, D-Sandy Hook, told House members about 20 minutes after the 4 p.m. filing deadline that a compromise agreement between the Democratic-controlled House and the Republican-controlled Senate could not be reached.

The House and Senate had delayed the original deadline from Jan. 31 to Feb. 7 to give the two sides more time to reach an agreement.

House Speaker Greg Stumbo, D-Prestonsburg, had worked with members of congress on a possible compromise that late last week looked promising, House leaders said. But Senate Majority Leader Robert Stivers said Tuesday afternoon that the two sides appeared to “agree to disagree.”

Stumbo said congressional candidates will run in the state’s existing districts. That means someone — either a candidate or a national political party — will probably challenge the constitutionality of Kentucky’s districts.

State and federal law requires the legislature to redraw congressional lines every 10 years so that each district has roughly the same population.

As of 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, 23 people had filed to run in Kentucky’s congressional races.

Congressman Ben Chandler, a Democrat from Versailles, will have no challengers in the Democratic primary for the 6th District, which includes Fayette and most surrounding counties. Andy Barr, who narrowly lost to Chandler in 2010, will face Curtis Kenimer of Paris and Patrick Kelly of Lexington in the Republican primary. Randolph Vance of Lexington also filed as a write-in candidate.

Five Republicans and two Democrats have filed to run in the 4th Congressional district, an open seat. Congressman Geoff Davis announced earlier this year that he was not going to seek another term.

Congressional candidates

1st District
James Buckmaster (D)
Charles Kendall Hatchett (D)
Edward Whitfield (R)

2nd District
David Lynn Williams (D)
S. Brett Guthrie (R)

3rd District
Burrel Charles Farnsley (D)
John A. Yarmuth (D)
Brooks Wicker (R)

4th District
William R. “Bill” Adkins (D)
Greg Frank (D)
Thomas Massie (R)
Gary Moore (R)
Brian D. Oerther (R)
Alecia Webb-Edgington (R)
Tom Wurtz (R)

5th District
Michael Ackerman (D)
Kenneth S. Stepp (D)
Harold “Hal” Rogers (R)

6th District
Ben Chandler (D)
Garland “Andy” Barr (R)
Patrick J. Kelly II. (R)
Curtis Kenimer (R)
Randolph S. Vance (Write-in)

Filed Under: Andy BarrBen ChandlerElectionsFederal GovernmentGeoff DavisGreg StumboHal RogersKY General AssemblyKY-1stKY-2ndKY-3rdKY-4thKY-5thKY-6thRobert Stivers

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.